Lessons from "Inventor"

Lessons from "Inventor"

I recently watched The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley and here is my take on Elizabeth Holmes's journey.

  1. I really liked her dedication in selling the idea to investors and consumers, but then she overpromised things that even her team thought were impossible according to laws of physics.

  2. When she overpromised and couldn't deliver, she started lying and faking results, which was probably the most crucial point of inflection in journey. She to "Fake it till you make it" to its extreme.

  3. Even while keeping her project a secret, she went too far. There was a point where people in her team didn't trust each other. That is a huge red flag.

  4. She took credit for other people's work, which is the worst thing a leader can do, and she saw the consequences of that. It ended up with the most knowledgeable persons suicide. I was listening to a podcast in that the CTO of mydukaan said "I give credit to my team for a great hire and I take responsibility of a bad hire". This shows proper leadership.

  5. Lastly, I learned that if you realize that you have screwed up don't delay, just fix it.